Business retail market: 2021-22 review of the Retail Exit Code – Consultation on proposals

Business retail market: 2021-22 review of the Retail Exit Code – Consultation on proposals

Published date: September 1, 2022
Closing date: Friday October 14th, 2022 5:00pm

Download

About Consultation

As a result of the opening of the business retail market in April 2017, around 1.2 million business customers in England can choose their Retailer. To protect those business customers who have not engaged in the market, the Retail Exit Code (REC) sets out requirements for price and non-price terms in the default tariffs offered to these customers.

We are reviewing the price and non-price protections currently set out in the REC and are proposing revisions to apply to smaller consumption business customers (those with annual consumption below 0.5Ml). This consultation sets out our proposals for revisions. We expect to publish our final decision in December 2022, with any revisions to the REC and associated protections for business customers to take effect from April 2023.

To be clear, our proposals set out in this document do not affect household customers.

**Please note – 1 September 2022, @ 18:30: We have published updated versions of both ‘Annex A – Methodology’ and ‘Annex C – Proposed amendments to the Retail Exit Code’. The updates correct two errors within the documents.**

Where to send submissions

We seek views on the consultation questions in this document and would also welcome any comments. Please email them to retailexitcode@ofwat.gov.uk with the subject “REC review September 2022 proposals consultation”.

Alternatively written responses may be posted to: Review of the Retail Exit Code September 2022, Consultation response, Ofwat, Centre City Tower, 7 Hill Street, Birmingham B5 4UA 

The closing date for this consultation is 5pm 14th October 2022. 

We intend to publish responses to this consultation on our website at www.ofwat.gov.uk. Subject to the following, by providing a response to this consultation you are deemed to consent to its publication. 

 

Supporting documents